My name is Erin, and this is my deal-io

Posted by Erin

Hey y’alls!

My name is Erin, and in case you haven’t caught me on one of the other blogs I write or contribute to, I’ll fill you in on some basics that will help you understand how this experimentation will be effecting me.

My time: I’m super busy. I work full time as an animal keeper at a science museum, and part time as a supervisor at a custard shoppe (and refer to my jobs as: “My job” and “Job#2”). I also am a musician and spend a lot of time writing and not as much time as I’d like performing. I’m also quite the social being, and do my best to maintain and grow friendships that suffer under my two job pressures. For the most part though, I do alright, and I am very happy with where my time and energies are going.

My eating: Well, that’s a complex one. I’ve been a vegetarian for 3 years, spent the last year eating vegan, a week of last year eating nothing but corn, the last month attempting an experimental raw food diet, and my whole life being off and on again with soda. My perspectives of food have been ever changing, and always for the better. Currently, I am on the path of (vegetarian) moderation, with attempts to eat vegan most of the time, but be very flexible with myself. I love to eat, I love to cook, I love to try foods I’ve never tasted before, and try again foods I think I don’t like, just to make sure I don’t like them (and if I don’t, I’m usually disappointed). I am kind of allergic to some types of soy, and I’m allergic to some raw fruits, veggies, and nuts.

My family: I live with my family, and there are currently 5 of us and a dog living in a green house in the Raleigh suburbs. I have an older brother, Matty, who does not live here, but might as well, and will probably be making several appearances at our table this month. My mother (who will be blogging) is witty and more useful than wikipedia and google maps combined, and enjoys cooking and recipe experimentation. My dad is ever entertaining and hilarious, and a guaranteed way to never ever ever have an awkward silence at your dinner table. My little brother Dominic will be turning 12 this month, and is brilliant, sincere, and tells brilliantly sincerel horrible corny jokes. My little sister Chloe is 8 and draws better and has better fashion sense then I can ever ever ever hope to have. She’s a fan of telling looooooooong hard to follow stories at the dinner table. My dog Cocoa is the sweetest pup, and enjoys resting her head on my lap at dinner, even though I am the least meaty of the bunch. I really enjoy living here and spending time with my family, and am quite looking forward to making time with them a priority this month.

How we’re gonna do this thing: Since today is Super Bowl day, we are eating a lunch together instead of dinner. Then for the rest of the month, we will be eating together every day except Tuesdays (my parents have a prior engagement they cannot get out of). On Sundays we have what’s called “Community Dinner” where we invite a bunch of people over for a big dinner. I have moved my job#2 hours back to 7pm (when usually I start anywhere from 4-6pm depending on the day), so on days I have to work there, dinner will be at 6pm sharp and I will probably be eating donned in uniform so that I don’t have to be rushed. My dad has some out of town days at the beginning of the month, and wants to have dinner with us via conference call. I’m thinking my mom and I might try to share the cooking responsibilities, like we’ll cook together on nights I don’t work or I could take over some meals altogether. On February 26th, we are leaving for a week long family cruise, so dinner together will be effortless.

I’m excited for a) the increased time with my family, as dinner together is something that gets lost in my shuffle of things, and b) to be doing an experiment that does not revolve around what I’m eating, but where I’m eating it and who with.

1 Comment

Filed under Introduction

One response to “My name is Erin, and this is my deal-io

  1. Pingback: When Pancakes Can’t Redeem You « Twenty-eight Tables

Leave a Reply

