Hi, I’m Karen

Hello all. I’m mother to one of the blogging Erins (the one with the deal-io). I’m looking forward to this experiment since it’s a good opportunity to spend time with Erin. With her tight schedule, we see her sometimes only in passing. My husband, 12-year-old son, and 8-year-old daughter eat together most nights (and my 22-year-old son, who doesn’t live us, typically swoops in later in the evening to eat leftovers). We eat at the kitchen table most nights, but we do have a weakness for eating out.

Erin already explained our schedule and goals for the month, so as the primary cook, I’ll go into the challenges of feeding the group. First, my husband and two sons are not picky eaters, but they are not fans of meat-free dinners. My youngest daughter is picky. She’ll eat most fruit and likes bread, cheese, and breakfast food; she eschews most meat unless it’s in sausage format. Erin is mostly vegetarian and has some food allergies to work around. I’m not big on dairy-laden foods and cannot eat beef or cured meats. All of this means that finding dishes we can all eat is challenging.

So the goal is for the five/six of us to eat dinner together as much as possible (my oldest son will eat with us sometimes). My husband travels a lot, so at times it may be just four of us.

1 Comment

Filed under Introduction

One response to “Hi, I’m Karen

  1. Pingback: Stir-fry-crazy « Twenty-eight Tables

Leave a Reply

