Friends and neighbors

by Robeeno

It was awkward. Totally uncomfortable. For a person of my social ineptitude inviting someone that I really do not know over for dinner felt like skinny dipping for the first time, exposing myself and taking a dive.  I did not realize until that moment how afraid I am of that exposure. Of letting people get to know me, of forming a new (dare I say) relationship. But there I was, watching the words fall out of my mouth in slow motion: “Hey, wooouuuldd youuuu likkke toooo commme ovvvveeer ffooor diiinner???”.

I see my neighbors in passing. We say hello, have light conversation, and continue on with whatever.  Most of the time our dogs socialize with each other more than their human counterparts.  I decided that through my involvement here I will try to change that. So, when my neighbor’s dogs came over to play I popped the question. And she said yes!!

Tonight was the night. I had thought about it all day. What would we talk about? What if she’s as shy as me? What if I offend her in one of my feminist politico tyraids?  What if, what if, what if…We were going to have quesadillas and I hoped she drinks because I could have really used one.

Bum, bum, bum…enter my “oh shit” moment. As I pull into the driveway I realize that the house is locked and my keys are inside.  My husband will not be home until 9pm.  We have to cancel dinner.  Dissappointment sinks in. When my daughter and i arrive at my neighbor’s door she says “dont worry Im really good at breaking into things”. Hmmm… She comes over and I learn that my house is lock-picker safe. Whew.

She ends up inviting us over to her place for spaghetti, and I spend the next 3.5 hours at her table getting to know a really cool person.  Now tyraids, no lull, just good conversation and a chance to really get to know someone.  Im glad I took that first step early on in this experimonth.

6 Comments

Filed under Table Report

6 responses to “Friends and neighbors

  1. allison

    Fantastic!! I love it. I think that’s the best dinner story I’ve heard all month–from the muscle-lag of getting the words out to invite your neighbor, to the quesadilla mealplan, to your home’s fortitude against lockpickers, and especially to the happy ending.
    That’s the sort of experience I’d love to have in this 28Tables. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Morbo

    Woot! Good neighbors are Good Things.

  3. Awesome idea and awesome post.

  4. Pingback: The “Let me cook for you” Interrogation « Twenty-eight Tables

  5. Jules

    really enjoyed reading your post! *smile – smile*
    it’s great how everything worked out in the end.

  6. Pingback: Twenty-eight Tables Traffic Report « Twenty-eight Tables

Leave a Reply

