Better Late Than Never!

Posted by Vivian

I’m a late starter. As I hold out as long as possible to join new networking sights like Twitter, I had to rely on word-of-mouth about Beck’s new Experimonth. At first, I thought this Experimonth was only about the physical task of sitting down on a chair at the table to eat your dinner. This sounded fantastic to me! I have this problem of eating while doing five-hundred other things. I often finish my food not having even realized I’d eaten anything. This is not a good thing for a person with an overeating issue already.

So before I found the site (with the really cute drawings of tables) I started envisioning place mats, cloth napkins, a wine glass next to a water glass, good music in the background and ways to keep my cat, Tango, from jumping up on the table. THEN I find out that this Experimonth is equally, if not more, about sitting down with someone and talking to them. I spent a day contemplating this and being angry at the world for yet another thing that makes being single so much more difficult than not being single. I could go into how we always get the worst sleeping arrangements at beach houses, but for the readers’ sake, I’ll refrain.

As a kid, we always had to sit at the table to eat our supper (yes, we called it “supper” in good ol’ North Dakota). We passed around dishes, talked about random things, had to ask to be excused, etc. I loved it. As a person who lives alone, I didn’t realize how much I missed it until this Experimonth began. When I first moved to Durham a few years ago, I lived with my best friend and we always sat at the table and ate together. Then I bought my own place and proceeded to always eat alone and never at the table. Come to think of it, this could be why Tango thinks the dining room table is a great place to sleep.

I hope to be able to accomplish the following during the next 22 days:

1) Eat one meal at the table with at least one other person 4 out of 7 days a week. On the other three days, I need to eat at the table and think about interpersonal relationships. Or maybe I should spend my alone time at the table joining online dating sites. I might not have easy access to a dinner partner during this month, but I can work towards better beach house accommodation in the future!
2) Convince other Bloggers to invite me over to dinner at their house.
3) Hold a Pot Luck once a week for other Bloggers or friends who don’t have easy access to a dinner partner-or do. I don’t discriminate based on partner status, yet. Does Wednesday at around 7:30 work for people?

I’d also like to note that I’ve already almost accomplished my goal for this week. I had dinner with friends in DC on the 1st, ate by myself at the table on the 2nd, ate with Tam on the 3rd, ate with Alex on the 4th and I didn’t eat at all on the 5th (I was sick!). I’ll try find someone to eat with tonight! So that’s it. Feel free to begin the dinner invites! I’ll bring the salad or the wine!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Better Late Than Never!

  1. Viv! Welcome aboard. Just so you know, you aren’t the only experimenter who lives alone.

    Want to have dinner sometime this weekend? Also, a weekly thing sounds great. Wednesday works for me.

  2. pakiki1246

    I’d be game for some potlucks! Wednesdays are good for me generally. I live alone and was single for years until recently, so I definitely understand the challenge. One of my goals is to have meals with friends I don’t see much of, so I think you just got added to the list! 🙂

  3. Jules

    Hi, Vivian. I like the name of your cat. I am not single, but I do live alone and I like this experiment because it gives more practice reaching out to people (a real challenge for us introverts sometimes). One of my dinner plans fell through this week, and since it was last minute, I actually decided to have a meal with my 2 cats (I recently posted about it) 🙂

    I’d be up for some potlucks too!

Leave a Reply

